Removing WINE’s Default Application Entries

Today I double-clicked an image, and it opened with WINE Internet Explorer. What in the world? Why would I want that?

Anyways, odd developer choices aside, there’s a way to get rid of WINE’s software completely from your “Open With” menus. Shut down winemenubuilder.exe. Here’s how to do it:

  1. Open winecfg
  2. Go to the libraries tab
  3. In the dropdown, type in “winemenubuilder.exe” without the quotes. It’s not in the list, but you can type it.
  4. Once added, click on the new entry and click the Edit button.
  5. Click the Disabled radio button, and save everything.
You’ll want to go through the .local/share/mime and .local/share/applications directories and delete anything relating to WINE. On my system, the only reason .local/share/mime exists is because WINE creates it, so I deleted the mime directory entirely. If you keep it, be sure to run:
update-mime-database .local/share/mime

If you’re running a good DE, like LXDE (hint, hint), all your menus will update almost immediately.

Source: WineHQ bug #19182

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • Tracy  On May 19, 2012 at 3:12 am

    I’m running Mint 9 & want to stop Wine IE from opening (not opening) my images. However, I only have a Totem folder & a file named .converted launchers in my .local/shared folder…Now what?

  • Tracy  On May 19, 2012 at 3:34 am

    Spoke too soon (I’m new, could you tell?)…I do have application & mime folders under my account name/.local/share.

    However, I think now that the above update line, as you’ve written, won’t point to my particular folders? Wrong path, right?

    tracy@tracy-i7-930 ~ $ sudo update-mime-database .local/share/mime
    [sudo] password for tracy:

    Note that ‘.local/share’ is not in the search path
    set by the XDG_DATA_HOME and XDG_DATA_DIRS
    environment variables, so applications may not
    be able to find it until you set them. The
    directories currently searched are:

    – /root/.local/share
    – /usr/local/share/
    – /usr/share/

    What am I doing wrong?

  • Jacob Godserv  On May 19, 2012 at 12:33 pm

    sudo was a bad idea! Some of the files in .local/share/mime are probably owned by root, and inaccessible by you until you revert them so you own them again. You can get a list of files not owned by you by running the following in a terminal:

    find ~ ! -user “$(whoami)”

    Once you’ve reclaimed ownership of those files, run the following again:

    update-mime-database .local/share/mime

    Let me know if you have any further questions

  • Tracy  On May 20, 2012 at 12:10 am

    Believe it or not, I found a fix that worked for me. I stopped where I was, following the above (didn’t want to muck anything up). And I stumbled across a forum where someone had simply removed the file mimeapps.list

    As soon as I did that, I could open the photos in image viewer again.

    Cheers & thanks!

Leave a Reply

