Unofficial Ubuntu Assistance

As the launch of a new service I created, UUA, nears its launch, I thought I’d write up on what it’s all about right here.

If memory serves, I believe all this started way, way back when I got a new old laptop. It didn’t have built-in wireless, of course, so I used a WUSB54GS USB dongle. Of course, the dongle didn’t work, so I spent a long time trying to figure out what was up. I asked other fellow Linux friends, and none of them could quite figure it out. To make the long story short, it was a rough road. After months and months of debugging, messing around, and Googling, I finally managed to find the solution.

The level of exhilaration from solving this particular problem is still unparalleled to this day. I think it’s what got me hooked on Linux permanently. During my the-world-is-fixed happiness, I wrote up a HOWTO so that other fellow Ubuntu users wouldn’t have to crunch through all that again.

The response to the HOWTO was very encouraging. Many users posted their thanks within days.

However, not all were successful. Some still had trouble specific to their environment, and they’d usually post and ask for help. Eventually, for some reason I can’t remember, I wrote my IM information into my profile and edited the HOWTO to let people know they could contact me if they had real difficult issues.

The result was a steady stream for requests. Just about everyone I was able to help, and a few even kept me on their buddy list for future reference. The attention got large enough, that I started a little business for Ubuntu support.

Unfortunately, I was unable to handle all the requests with enough attention to be worthy of payment. I closed out the business experiment, and just did my best with whatever I got, with some people getting replies days later.

It was pretty obvious that I had hit on something important, though. People really really wanted live Ubuntu support, but the current support options weren’t always enough. The result of all this, is UUA.

You can read more about UUA at its website.

(P.S. If anyone knows of someone who has server space for a Java IRC bot, let me know.)

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Leave a Reply

